Papers relating to the Prince of Wales/Grand Theatre, legal papers and records relating to Hannay's Trustees and to property, also legal and financial records of Trusts for Mrs JB Hannay and Mrs C Hannay
Alexander Hannay, Proprietor of the Grand Theatre, Glasgow
This material is held atUniversity of Dundee Archive Services
- Reference
- GB 254 MS 354
- Former Reference
- GB 254 GB248/DC88
- Dates of Creation
- 1841-1957
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description
- 7 boxes; 1 metre
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Alexander Hannay, portioner, had property in Helensburgh and owned the Prince of Wales Theatre, later known as the Grand Theatre in Cowcaddens, Glasgow. He was father to James Ballantyne Hannay, chemist and innovator. The Prince of Wales Music Hall opened in 1867 and was one of Glasgow's oldest music halls. Following a fire in 1869, a new theatre was built on the site and in 1881 it was refurbished and called the Grand Theatre. It had a capacity of 2,030 and film shows began regularly from 1915. The Grand was taken over in 1909 by Moss Empires Ltd, but was again destroyed by fire in 1989. The New Grand Picture House was then built in its place.
Arrangement
Usually chronological within series.
Access Information
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act (2018), General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR, 2018) and any other relevant legislation or restrictions. Clinical information is closed for 100 years.
Note
Alexander Hannay, portioner, had property in Helensburgh and owned the Prince of Wales Theatre, later known as the Grand Theatre in Cowcaddens, Glasgow. He was father to James Ballantyne Hannay, chemist and innovator. The Prince of Wales Music Hall opened in 1867 and was one of Glasgow's oldest music halls. Following a fire in 1869, a new theatre was built on the site and in 1881 it was refurbished and called the Grand Theatre. It had a capacity of 2,030 and film shows began regularly from 1915. The Grand was taken over in 1909 by Moss Empires Ltd, but was again destroyed by fire in 1989. The New Grand Picture House was then built in its place.
Archivist's Note
Description compiled by Alan Coull
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges may be made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply; please check with the Duty Archivist.
Appraisal Information
Nothing destroyed
Custodial History
Deposited with Glasgow University Archive Services by Clan Hannay in the 1980s and transferred to DUA 2013
Accruals
Not expected
Additional Information
Published
Catalogued
MS 354